Yay!

I’ve placed an order for my first RAM upgrade. Ever.

I’ve figured it’s rather overdue – I only have 256MB… and now I’ve finally gotten around to it.

Would have done it earlier, except DDR1 is rather expensive nowadays. Managed to get 1GB online for $60 + p&h thanks to StaticIce, but I don’t know if it will arrive… it’s rather cheap.

I might even get another gig or two when I get/build a new machine and set up Xen and a few services on this machine, then give it to my sister. With an upgraded video card and a few other things of course…

2 Responses to Yay!

  1. TimC says:

    More to the point, whether it will work.

    I bought 256MB of ram recently for my 6 year old laptop. Didn’t work — “high density” vs “low density”, but the seller kindly accepted it back.

    Oh well, I bought a whole new laptop, and this time I made sure I bought the maximum amount of ram it would take.

  2. ajdlinux says:

    Yeah, whether it will work.

    It arrived today thanks to TNT… looks undamaged, it’s Hynix, appears to be low-density.

    Can’t test it yet because I’m going away for the weekend though…

Leave a Reply

